Janurary Wrap-Up

In January I read 6 books and had 1 DNF.  I think I am off to a good start for the year. 

First off is my DNF

Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert A.  Heinlein 

I feel really bad about not finishing this one.  It has been on my TBR for years.  The book was just not what I expected.  It was more a philosophical and religious tale than sci-fi and just bored me and was not what I wanted. 

Now on to the book I actually finished last month. 

The Hostile Hospital by Lemony Snicket

⭐⭐⭐⭐

This was my continuing adventures into The Series of Unfortunate Events. The same basic story,  different location. Continuing clues as to the V.F.D. is keeping me interested in this saga. 

You Can’t Touch My Hair  by Phoebe Robinson

⭐⭐⭐⭐

Some really funny, thought-provoking, and inspiring essays on topics,mostly about race and being female. Some parts dragged on the topic for a bit too long but overall great read. 

The Clockwork Dagger by Beth Cato

⭐⭐⭐

Just an average read. This steampunk story has a good female main character,  has a mix of tech and naturalism and political intrigue. 

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

⭐⭐⭐

This collection of short graphic stories gave a definite creepy vibe.  The artwork is amazing but the stories all feel short,  most ending abruptly and leaving me feeling empty. 

Return of the Jedi-Beware the Power of the Dark Side by Tom Angleberger

⭐⭐⭐⭐

The 3rd book in this series.  And it was a good retelling.  Not the best of the series, just seemed a straightforward retelling,  but it’s Star Wars so it’s still great. 

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

⭐⭐⭐

I had decided to read this book after I had a patient that was having delusions that she was a character from this world.  I thought it was a great way to introduce young readers to Greek Mythology but I was just not the target audience for this book.  Don’t know if I will continue with this series. 
Well,  that is all for the books of January. Soon will be my post of February TBR. 

Leave a Reply

