May Reading Wrap-Up

There are still 2 full days left in May, but I don’t think I am going to be finishing any more books this month, so with that I will bring you my May Wrap-Up. My reading went a little wonky from what I had on my TBR and that is one reason I don’t like doing TBRs.  My mood changes so much in a month and what is going to peek or keep my interest will change on a daily basis.  This month I discovered my love of coloring on my phone while listening to audio books, so I have a few more audio books than I had planned on reading.  I also DNF 2 books this month, both I was very sad about.

The first book I gave up on was Elantris 68427._SY180_[1]by Brandon Sanderson.  I really wanted to like this book but I just found it extremely boring. Since I was bored I was not as engaged as I should have been and that led me to being confused as to what was happening and keeping different people straight in my mind.

 

 

29570143The next book I DNFed this month was New York 2140 by Kim Stanley Robinson. This was another one that I was just bored by.  It just jumped to different people with nothing really happening, with long winded, boring historical information on New York placed between the chapters.

 

 

Let’s get on to the books I DID finish this month. I read 4 graphic novels, 2 audio books and 1 physical book for a total of 7 books this month. happybook

The 2 audio books were A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent by Marie Brennan which I have 5 stars and NPCs by Drew Hayes which I have 4 stars.

I really, really loved both of these books.  The feminist in me loved Lady Trent and the D&D geek in me loved the fun take on the game in NPCs.

The phy77197sical book I read this month was Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb.  Oh how I loved this book and that’s why it got a 5 star rating from me. Fitz and what happens to him in this book was so compelling.  Now I just have to get through the rest of her books.

 

 

I pretty much sped through the 4 graphic novels this week to finish out my month.

Low, Vol. 1: The Delirium of Hope by Rick Remender 2 stars.   I really disliked this, it was mostly the artwork that brought the rating down so low.  I rarely give out less than 3 stars.

Wonder Woman: Earth One, Vol. 1 by Grant Morrison 4 stars.  I really like almost all of the Earth One series stuff and this was no exception.

Superman: Action Comics, Vol. 1: Path of Doom by Dan Jurgens 4 stars.  Action, that what we want from a Action Comics right?  That’s what this gives.

Justice League: Vol. 1: The Extinction Machine by Bryan Hitch 3 stars. Didn’t really care for the “villain” in this one, but still entertaining.

 

That is all for my reading this month.  How did your month go?

Happy Reading!

 

Leave a Reply

